avocado alfredo

I haven’t been sleeping or eating very well recently because my mind has been a bit restless. In the summer especially there are nights I lie awake in my bed (which currently happens to be an unopened mattress on the floor of my apartment) and think about what’s going to happen in the future, what I’m going to do with myself. I wake up in the morning at an ungodly hour exhausted but unable to fall back asleep for fear of losing productivity. This is especially exasperating on rainy days (like today) where I would love nothing more than to turn back into said bed and make myself comfortable again.

This is a side effect of the summer disease that seems to afflict me every year, but I don’t mind; this is an opportune time to re-center myself and figure out where my real interests lie. For instance, one of the realizations I’ve come to recently is that I’m not actually that interested in designing products… which is kind of unfortunate for a student studying industrial design (I was contemplating changing the name of this blog after this epiphany but I figured it’d be too inconvenient. I’m still a design student after all!). I won’t bore you with details but I can reassure you that all is going to be fine – all I know is that I want to create meaningful things for people. I enjoy ambiguity anyway – more opportunities! Maybe I’ll quit school and just food blog all day (Mom, if you’re reading this, I promise I’m just kidding).

Another side effect of summer, for me, at least, is the desire to eat light foods. I wish I could explain it more articulately, but basically I prefer my food especially simple and minimal (but of course, still delicious). This pasta fits the bill perfectly. I had an avocado that was perfectly ripe, and fresh basil leaves from the plant I had purchased for $2 (!) a few weeks ago. This flavor profile is one of my favorites: garlic, lemon, and black pepper are just perfect for each other, and the addition of basil complements it so well.

Avocado Alfredo from Oh She Glows
serves 1

1/2 avocado
1 clove garlic
juice of 1/2 a lemon
3 fresh basil leaves
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
handful of pasta (I used spinach)

1. Bring water to a boil and start cooking your pasta (It should take about 10 minutes, which is more than enough time to put the sauce together)

2. Slice your avocado in half; store the other half for something delicious later.


3. Either place all the ingredients in a food processor or just finely dice everything (it’s still good, I promise).

4. Combine all the ingredients using a fork. If you like your sauce looser you can add some olive oil.

5. When the pasta is finished cooking, toss with the sauce (and possibly garnish with lemon zest and more black pepper) and serve.

I know it looks and sounds mildly suspicious, but I assure you that it is SO. GOOD. It’s somewhat rich, but not overwhelmingly so as in regular alfredo sauces. I’m sure it’d also go well with other things (i.e. a protein, other veggies) but the simplicity of this dish is why it’s so lovely. Also it’s incredibly healthy (this is… vegan?!?), though I didn’t notice until I’d finished devouring the entire plate.

Green, creamy deliciousness

7 thoughts on “avocado alfredo

  1. This looks like a delicious vegan pasta recipe. I can’t wait to try it. I recently posted a vegan cupcake recipe on my blog. Healthy it may not be, but we all have our indulgences, don’t we?

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin & cauliflower bulgur with parsley pesto « Two Spoons

Leave a Reply

